Protected areas

In 1993 Royal Government of Bhutan notified nine protected areas, with four National Parks, four Wildlife Sanctuaries and one Strict Nature Reserve.

 Figure taken from Department of Forest and Park Services websites

Jigme Dorji National Park

Gazetted in 1974 as a wildlife sanctuary, Jigme Dorji National Park (JDNP) is one of the oldest protected areas in